top of page
  • Writer's pictureApril Jaremco

The First 3 Months of Marriage

It's funny, every time I talked with friends and family about marriage before our wedding, they all said that my life was about to change. Truth is, the first 3 months of marriage have been amazing.

The part that no one really talks about it is that there is this huge lead up to the wedding day and you are so busy with vendors and organizing, confirming details, making sure everything is perfect.. but it's one day. You wake up the next morning and it feels like a dream.

After our wedding, we had the initial wind down where we had to deal with a few vendor hiccups. We waited a few weeks to go on our honeymoon - which turned out to be a great idea.



Ok, the good stuff.

Has anything really changed? Absolutely. But it might not be what you think.

I thought he was the most important thing in my life before marriage, but I was wrong.

He went from being what I thought was the most important thing in my life before marriage, to a love on a whole other level. Let me explain. We are talking best friend level 10,000. He is my person. Call me old fashioned, but, I believe that marriage should be forever. I know this could be a pretty unpopular opinion amongst some of my friends and family, but it's how I feel. Why get married if you aren't 1,000 percent sure that this is the right thing to do? You are devoting your life to being with that person forever.

In today's day and age, there are so many failed marriages.. I'm sure when those people got married, they never thought that it would come to that. Call me naive, but if something is broken, you fix it. I suppose that isn't always a shared view.

For the first 3 month that we have been married, I have felt the urge to do better in life, be a better partner to my husband and go out of my way for him more than ever.

You could say that in my past life, things didn't go so smoothly in relationships and this side of me (for lack of better description) was lost. My husband has opened up a whole new world for me to be my best self. I thought I loved him before. The feelings I have for him have surpassed anything I have ever dreamed possible.



There are other things that have evolved since tying the knot. I have since expanded my cooking skills! Hear me out: I bake. I love to bake anything and everything. Cooking was never my strong suite, but marriage has sparked this whole new fire in me! I have been trying countless new recipes and really enjoying it. I just cooked an entire Thanksgiving dinner for my husbands family a couple of weeks ago (which was a huge accomplishment for me).


I have this sudden urge to want to make our house a home. We have lived together for four years. FOUR YEARS. We started renovations together but have never really finished them.

All I want to do is make our house a home.

Now, all I want to do is finish the renovations and find new ways to make our house a cozy home. Maybe it's that I never really felt like it was mine, because my husband bought his house years before we met. It's tough to come into an established house and try to make it your own. And its not for a lack of my husband (then boyfriend) encouraging me before! It's different now. This is our place, and I love that.


One thing is for sure, being married is surreal. Calling Kel my husband never gets old and puts a grin on my face every time I get to say it out loud. I imagine that our life together will only grow as time goes on and I'm excited to write it all down here. After all, that was one of the main reasons I started this blog.. to talk about wife-life.


xx,

A






86 views1 comment

A lifestyle blog by April Jaremco

bottom of page