top of page
  • Writer's pictureApril Jaremco

Our Dream Wedding - Part One

Updated: Sep 22, 2018


Ceremony at the Audain Art Museum, Whislter BC

Beautiful white and green florals

White and green wedding florals

Rosa Clara Adela Gown


Wedding at the Audain Art Museum, Whistler BC

Audain Art Museum Luxury Wedding

Audain Art Museum luxury black tie wedding

Rose gold popcorn boxes from Amazon.com


Black tie wedding

Clearly the life of the party! Fav photo.

I think it's only fitting that my first real blog post has something to do with our wedding..

Kel and I had been dating for almost 4 years when he proposed to me. Each year, we throw a party in our back field for all of our friends. This time was no different, in fact, we had gone all out! It was picturesque, we had a beautiful long table with white table cloths, a burlap runner and sunflowers everywhere. String lights hung above the table for light when it got dark. We set up a bar on big wine barrels and had everything from beer to Kel's famous whiskey penicillin, the John Deere tractor parked next to it with a bucket full of ice. Like always, we did a menu to remember: Kels's homemade ribs, all the fixings and my famous apple crisp in mason jars for dessert. As all of our close friends gathered at the table with dinner, two of Kel's guy friends started lining the tables with champagne flutes... I remember asking him what they were for and he slyly answered that the party rental company we used made a mistake and these were a freebie as an apology. Of course, being gullible, I accepted this and moved on as his two friends continued to place white wine on each table next to the champagne flutes (clever). Before I knew it, Kel was dragging me up in front of the crowd saying "April's going to give a speech"! .. I am pretty shy in front of big crowds and I knew that was not the case. Kel on the other hand is a natural. He said a few words about how nice it was to have everyone all in one place and how much we look forward to our backyard party each year, then instead of walking back to the table, he turns and pulls me towards a huge tree in our back yard.. A million thoughts flooded in my head at this point: "this can't be happening, is this what I think it is?! He's not going to propose, OMG don't cry! He just started a new barn project - there is no way this is what you think it is..."

We get up to the biggest maple tree on our property, perfectly in view of the dinner table (I should add he had recently planted a ton of flowers around this maple and made a pavestone platform at the base of the tree.. it was BEAUTIFUL) and he pulls me close. Our favorite song is playing in the background, we are swaying to the music and he is whispering sweet nothings into my ear. The whole world melts away with every word he is saying to me. Hidden in a small nook in the tree, like something out of a movie, he pulled out a ring box and asked me to marry him!

Our story has always felt like a fairy-tale, from the day we met.. but more on that later! We set out to plan the perfect day and it turned out nothing short of amazing.


We were married on July 21st in Whislter, BC, at the Audain Art Museum. I remember the first time we walked into the building when we were considering venues.. it was perfect. Our reception took place upstairs in a beautiful white room with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the forest. We kept our decor simple but luxe, decorating the room with tall floral arrangements on while pillars, lanterns, oak and linen chairs with a white isle runner. We really wanted to bring the forest feel into the room with us.

It was a small wedding, 56 of our closest friends and family. For our bridal party, we decided we would only have one person each to keep that close knit feel, it was perfect for us. Originally, we planned to write each other personalized vows, but after talking more we really loved how powerful the traditional vows sounded. We are both pretty old fashioned at heart. There was one thing that was very non traditional at our ceremony.. and that was the moment I walked by myself down the isle. I made the decision to walk myself down the isle to meet my future husband very early on in the planning process. Although some people may not have understood my decision, it was something I had to do for myself and it was such a powerful moment for me.

After we were married, we went straight into a pink champagne toast with our (my) favorite Moet Chandon Rose. We did these cute little rose gold popcorn boxes with Chicago mix to go along with it and it was a huge hit! Once we had a chance to chat with each of our guests, we parted ways to go do our photos.


Stay tuned for part two! I will be posting more wedding photos soon and talking about our reception!!


xx,

A


Flowers: Celsia Floral | Dress: Rosa Clara Adela Gown | Venue: Audain Art Museum | Chairs: Art of the Party | Officiant: Tracy Kerr | Photograhy: Nunn Other Protography | Catering: Bearfoot Bistro | Rings & pearl bracelet: Blue Nile | Popcorn boxes: Amazon | Wedding planner: Celebrate Events



191 views0 comments

A lifestyle blog by April Jaremco

bottom of page